Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Crazy for you
Newsletter
Archives
6 mars 2013

Dans cette vie

Nous arrivons au terme de notre exploration titre par titre de l'album "Erotica". Les 4 derniers titres de cet album ne sont jamais sortis en single.

1993 ritts II (5)

La onzième chanson est "Why's it so hard", chanson magnifique sur la tolérance, sur l'amour. C'est un véritable hymne à l'amour. Madonna s'y fait plus grave. La chanson est composée de questions. Elle nous, vous questionne sur le fait qu'aimer est si beau, alors pourquoi est-il si dur de le faire ? C'est une très belle réflexion sur le monde notamment les religions monothéistes qui prônent à tour de bras l'amour de son prochain et qui ne font qu'amplifier la haine envers l'autre ! Oui comme le dis Madonna "why's it so hard to love one another ?" ... "before it's too late".

Elle interprètera ce titre lors du "Girlie Show" de 1993.

Why's It So Hard

written by M. Ciccone and S. Pettibone
Track 11, Time: 5:22
-------------------------
Why's it so hard to love one another
Why's it so hard to love
(repeat)

What do I have to do to be accepted
What do I have to say
What do I have to do to be respected
How do I have to play
What do I have to look like to feel I'm equal
Where do I have to go
What club do I have to join to prove I'm worthy
Who do I have to know

Chorus:

I'm telling you brothers, sisters
Why can't we learn to challenge the system
Without living in pain
Brothers, sisters
Why can't we learn to accept that we're different
Before it's too late (first time only)
Why's it so damn hard (all other times)

What do I have to learn to know what's right for me
What do I have to know
What am I going to do when I feel righteous
Where do I have to go
Who should get to say what I believe in
Who should have the right
What am I going to do with all this anger
Why do I have to fight

(chorus)

Bring your love, sing your love
Wear your love, share your love
(repeat twice)

Bring your love, sing your love
Wear your love, show your sister how

Brothers, sisters, what do I have to say
Brothers, sisters, how do I have to play
Brothers, sisters, who should have the right
Brothers, sisters, why do I have to fight

Why's it so hard to love one another
Love your sister, love your brother
(repeat)

Why's it so hard to love one another
Why's it so hard to love

(chorus)

Sing your love
Share your love
(repeat 3 times)

Love your brother now
Show your sister how
Love your brother now
Show your sister
(repeat)

1993 ritts II (6)

La douzième chanson est l'une des plus belles et surtout l'une des plus engagées (si ce n'est la plus engagée) que Madonna ait écrit jusqu'à présent. Le titre "In this life" parle du SIDA. C'est une chanson choc qui bouleversera toutes les personnes qui l'écouteront.

Je n'ai jamais trouvé plus direct que ce titre pour parler de cette maladie qui a balayé, qui balaye et qui balayera tant de gens.

1993 ritts II (7)

Madonna y parle de son expérience personnelle. Elle a vu tellement de personnes chères à ses yeux disparaître à cause de cette maladie. Elle parle de l'absence, de la difficulté à faire face, des gens qui passent et qui ne veulent surtout pas regarder... C'est absolument bouleversant. Une chanson à apprendre dans les écoles !

Le titre "In this life" est un message d'espoir. Madonna dit qu'elle espère voir de son vivant la fin de cette terrible maladie : "i hope it's in this life, i hope it's in this life time".

Cette chanson fut intégrée à la tournée "Girlie Show". Son interprétation vous prend aux tripes.

In This Life

written by M. Ciccone and S. Pettibone
Track 12, Time: 6:22
-------------------------
Sitting on a park bench
Thinking about a friend of mine
He was only 23
Gone before he had his time
It came without a warning
Didn't want his friends to see him cry
He knew the day was dawning
And I didn't have a chance to say goodbye

Chorus:

In this life I loved you most of all
What for?
'Cause now you're gone and I have to ask myself
What for?

What for?
Driving down the boulevard
Thinking about a man I knew
He was like a father to me
Nothing in the world that he wouldn't do
Taught me to respect myself
Said that we're all made of flesh and blood
Why should he be treated differently
Shouldn't matter who you choose to love

(chorus)

Intermediate:

People pass by and I wonder who's next
Who determines, who knows best
Is there a lesson I'm supposed to learn in this case
Ignorance is not bliss

(chorus)
(intermediate)

Have you ever watched your best friend die [what for]
Have you ever watched a grown man cry [what for]
Some say that life isn't fair [what for]
I say that people just don't care [what for]
They'd rather turn the other way [what for]
And wait for this thing to go away [what for]
Why do we have to pretend [what for]
Some day I pray it will end

I hope it's in this life
I hope it's in this life time
(repeat)

1993 ritts II (8)

La treizième chanson est en quelque sorte un interlude un peu tardif. Aujourd'hui encore, je me demande ce que vient faire "Did you do it". Madonna est juste présente sur les choeurs. Les chanteurs sont Mark Goodman et Dave Murphy. Le titre est amusant mais franchement cela ne méritait pas d'être présent sur cet album !

Did You Do It?

written by M. Ciccone and A. Betts
Track 13, Time: 4:53
-------------------------
Tick tick tock, Mo is on the jock
I did her in the limo as we went around the block
Sucked the mole on her hip, licked the lipstick off her lip
She got real excited, yo she started to flip
She says 'Dre baby 'Dre baby oh
I said just relax, yo chill Mo
We made a right turn onto Central Park West
One hand gripped the car, the other on her breast

Chorus:

Did you do it? Ya know I did it
Did you do it? Ya know I did it
Did you do it? Ya know I did it
I let the seat recline and I hit it
Did you do it? I said I did it
Did you do it? I said I did it
Did you do it? I said I did it
But I backed out quick because I thought I split it

Waiting for you, just waiting
Waiting for you
Waiting for you, just waiting
Waiting for you

Uh, Ho's in the front for the 1990's
Walkin' around showing off their hinies
Wigglin' they're jigglin' they're swingin' and flingin'
9-7-0 Yo Ho, your phone's ringin'
You get a call from your John, you meet him at the mot'
He's chillin' in a pamper and a fur coat
Your head starts spinnin', you drunk too much gin in
Your jaw starts grinnin', and this is the beginnin'
Of a night of an average Ho
It ain't all about working on the streets no more
Here's another episode of dropping off a load
Peter was on the beater, I was about to explode
I couldn't hold back [so whadja do]
I took her to my place [yo, did she sit on your face]
She was so good just like uh, Campbell's soup
I won't try to front so here's the rude scoop
I dipped it and I stripped it and I ripped it like before
I had her screamin', nope no diddily, nope no more
I can't stop once I get started
But yo honey, uh, get them legs parted

Waiting for you, just waiting
Waiting for you
Waiting for you, just waiting
Waiting for you

(chorus)

They come with the rough stuff, boy we hit it, split it, and forgit it
In the same order as ya hear, boy I'm not frontin' [me not front]
Don't ask what, me tell ya the truth, you understand me eye?
The iron eye can get busy, you know what I'm saying?
Clean up me rifle, clean up me rifle
Clean up me rifle, me elephant rifle
Clean up me rifle, you clean up me rifle
Clean up me rifle, elephant rifle

I flipped her from the top of my head, enough said
I'm the brother with the short short dreads
A couple different styles, a couple different 'fros
Just some that my souls about some girls I know
I gotta hit it hard because I go for the gusto
And I cover up the moans by turnin' up my stereo

(chorus)

You didn't do it, he didn't do it
I made her go

Waiting for you, just waiting
Waiting for you
(repeat and fade)

1993 ritts II (9)

La quatorzième et dernière chanson est pour moi le bijou. "Secret Garden" est une merveille. André Betts est encore aux manettes et nous enivre de cette ambiance jazzy moderne lancinante, enivrante. La musique, les paroles, la voix de Madonna nous entraînent dans un univers de secrets. J'ADORE !! Je rêve qu'elle l'interprète un jour en concert. Pour moi elle fait partie des chansons les plus magiques que Madonna a enregistré !

L'album "Erotica" se clôt de manière magistrale. La première chanson "Erotica" nous livre des fantasmes, la dernière "Secret Garden" nous dit que chacun a un jardin secret. Tout se lie, c'est fascinant.

Secret Garden

written by M. Ciccone and A. Betts
Track 14, Time: 5:32
-------------------------
In my secret garden, I'm looking for the perfect flower
Waiting for my finest hour
In my secret garden, I still believe after all
I still believe and I fall
You plant the seed and I'll watch it grow
I wonder when I'll start to show
I wonder if I'll ever know
Where my place is
Where my face is
I know it's in here somewhere
I just wish I knew the color of my hair
I know the answer's hiding somewhere
In my secret garden, there's

Chorus:

A petal that isn't torn
A heart that will not harden
A place that I can be born
In my secret garden
A rose without a thorn
A lover without scorn

If I wait for the rain to kiss me and undress me
Will I look like a fool, wet and a mess
Will I still be thirsty
Will I pass the test
And if I look for the rainbow, will I see it
Or will it pass right by
'Cause I'm not supposed to see
'Cause the blind are never free
Even at my secret garden
There's a chance that I could harden
That's why I'll keep on looking, for

(chorus)

I still believe, I still believe
'Cause after all is said and done
I'm still alive
And the boots have come and trampled on me
And I'm still alive
'Cause the sun has kissed me, and caressed me
And I'm strong, and there's a chance
That I will grow, this I know
So I'm still looking for

(chorus, inserting "It's" before "In my secret garden")

Somewhere in fountain blue
Lies my secret garden

1993 ritts II (10)

Cet album est vraiment une merveille. Le voyage est unique. Comme vous avez pu le contaster, si l'ambiance érotique est bien présente, elle n'est pas la seule composante, loin de là ! Madonna parle d'Amour sans tabous... et au fond c'est peut être cela qui a choqué. Musicalement, "Erotica" est une claque en ce début des années 90. Madonna prend un virage impressionnant que de nombreux fans bouderont et que d'autres comme moi feront plus qu'apprécier. "Erotica" est l'album de la maturité. Après lui, plus rien ne sera comme avant pour Madonna. Une artiste est réellement née avec cet opus. C'est un moment charnière dans sa carrière. Je pense sincèrement que sans cet album, Madonna ne serait pas la grande icône qu'elle est devenue aujourd'hui. L'introspection qui a découlé de cet opus a changé sa vie. Madonna s'est dévoilée plus qu'on ne le pense avec "Erotica".

1993 ritts II (11)

Cet album a modifié pas mal de choses dans le monde de la pop. Madonna a apporté le son house, dance, électronique sur le devant de la scène internationale. Tout à coup ce n'était plus quelque chose d'underground. La décennie qui suivra lui donnera raison. Il est alors plus facile de comprendre pourquoi "Erotica" était trop en avance sur son temps.

1993 ritts II (12) 1993 ritts II (13) 1993 ritts II (14) 1993 ritts II (15) 1993 rittsherb (1) 1993 rittsherb (2) 1993 rittsherb (3)

Les photos sont de Herb Ritts. Elles sont apparues en 1993 dans un numéro du magazine "Interview".

Merci, comme toujours au site Madonna Lyrics pour les paroles.

Publicité
Commentaires
P
J'avais trouvé le magazine Interview pour lequel ces photos avaient été faites. Je pense le scanner pour le montrer. J'ai tellement de choses sur Madonna a montré ! mais le thème GPB me prend tellement de temps que je n'arrive pas à suivre ! Scanner ses archives, la recherche de ces archives dans mon bordel (tu as vu comment c'était dans ma pièce :-), il me faut du temps pour tout répertorié ! Même si cela est éreintant, c'est passionnant.
M
J'aime tellement cette séance d'Herb Ritts.... Un grand grand merci pour ce travail sur Erotica. Je n'avais jamais vu ce sujet traité aussi finiment et profondément. C'était passionnant.
Crazy for you
  • "Crazy" c'est sûr, "In love" c'est certain. Beaucoup de passions parcourent ma vie : Marilyn Monroe, Madonna, le Japon, les années folles... La nostalgie n'est jamais loin, la mélancolie parfois non plus, bienvenue dans mon univers.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 279 548
Publicité